City Council

Regular Meetings

  • 7 p.m.
  • Second and fourth Monday of each month
  • City Hall Annex Building
    401 E. San Patricio Avenue
    Mathis, TX78368


  • Workshops are scheduled at the City Council’s request
  • City Hall Annex Building
    401 E. San Patricio Avenue
    Mathis, TX 78368

City Council meetings are open to the public and citizens are encouraged to attend and participate in city government.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes

City Council Members

About the Council

The City Council consists of a mayor and five council members elected by majority vote at large, each of which shall run for office in a numbered place position. The mayor and members of the city council shall be elected for terms of two years (odd and even numbered years) and shall hold office until their respective successors have been elected and qualified.

The council enacts policies, adopts ordinances and resolutions, and establishes the annual budget to provide services to the public. The mayor and council members are responsible for and require the city manager as the chief executive officer of the city to enforce all laws, federal, state, and municipal.

Ciriaco "Ciri" Villarreal, Mayor
sq 1
Sandra Quinones, Mayor Pro Tem
salinas 1
Richard Salinas, Councilman Place 2
IR 1
Isabel Monsibaiz Rivera, Councilwoman Place 3
Mary Martinez Olivarez, Councilwoman Place 4
David Garcia, Councilman Place 5